Treaties of Nijmegen Medal

The 6th Treaties of Nijmegen Medal ceremony in 2020 is postponed to 2021 due to the measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19.


On 5 April 2018 the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to Paul Polman, (former) CEO of Unilever.
He received this in recognition of his contributions, on a national and an international scale, for a greener and more sustainable living environment.
Following the award ceremony, Polman gave the Treaties of Nijmegen address.

‘ is what binds any society together.

Business has to step-up.  It cannot be a bystander in a system that gives it life in the first place.

People rightfully expect business to be an agent of change.’

(Paul Polman, Treaties of Nijmegen lecture 5 April 2018)




The seventeenth century is known as the Golden Age of the Republic of the Seven United Netherlands. In 1672, a coalition consisting of England, France, Cologne and Münster invaded the republic. This ‘catastrophic year’ marked the end of the period of economic expansion. In 1675 the warring factions wished to select a city where a peace treaty could be signed to end the various wars raging throughout Europe. The English throne selected Nijmegen. From 1676 to 1679, Nijmegen was the location of treaty negotiations. The term ‘Treaties of Peace of Nijmegen’ refers in an international context to a series of interrelated treaties ending the Franco-Dutch War, which were signed in Nijmegen in 1678 and 1679. Read more >

Painting Henri Gascard

This painting by the French court painter Gascard shows one of the first treaties. Read more >


In order to commemorate the Treaties of Nijmegen, many medals and coins were made. Read more >


The ambassadors of the European powers in Nijmegen expected the locations hosting negotiations. Read more >


2010 – Jacques Delors

Jacques Delors is the first laureate to receive the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal. The former chairman of the European Commission (1985-1995) was awarded the medal for his efforts in achieving European unity. Read more >

2012 – Umberto Eco

On 7 May 2012, the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was presented to Umberto Eco. The award served as a tribute to the Italian author and scientist for his contribution to the thinking and the debate on the past and future of Europe. Read more >

2014 Neelie Kroes

The third Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to Neelie Kroes. She received this in recognition of her contributions to the development and prosperity of Europe. The medal was presented on 7 May in St. Stevenskerk in Nijmegen. Read more >

2016 – European Court of Human Rights (ECHR)

On November 18 2016 the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to the European Court of Human Rights for its contribution to the development of Europe and the protection of human rights. Read more >

2018 – Paul Polman

On 5 April 2018 the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to Paul Polman. Read more >


The Treaties of Nijmegen Medal is an initiative by the municipality of Nijmegen, Radboud University and NXP Semiconductors N.V., and is supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.