Processed with PICSPLAY

The Treaties of Nijmegen Medal is a biannual prize that is awarded to one of the key international figures committed to European development. The 2016 Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to the European Court of Human Rights for its contribution to the development of Europe and the protection of human rights.

In 2010, Jacques Delors received the inaugural award, while in 2012 the Medal went to Umberto Eco. On 7 May 2014, the Treaties of Nijmegen Medal was awarded to Neelie Kroes in recognition of her contributions to the development and prosperity of Europe.

The Treaties of Nijmegen Medal is an initiative by the municipality of Nijmegen, Radboud University Nijmegen and NXP Semiconductors N.V., and is supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Award ceremony 2016
The prize was presented in the St. Stevenskerk in Nijmegen on November 18, after which Guido Raimondi, President of the Court, delivered the Treaties of Nijmegen lecture.

Watch the video.